Mixtape: Lovey Dovey

So, yeah, Valentine’s Day approacheth.  My new tradition consists of heading to the new Fifty Shades movie, naturally solo, with a bag of conversation hearts in tow.  It’s fun.  In some way.  Shut up.

Anyhoo, I figured I’d take the opportunity of the season to highlight some of my favorite love songs out there.  I’m not saying they’re the best or anything (though I might argue that for some of them), just that I find them to be particularly pleasant to mine ears.  There’s no real order to this collection, just a flowing stream of love, kiddos.  Enjoy.

Let’s kick things off with a slice of ’80s cheese, shall we?

Aside from the sentiments espoused toward the end of the song, I think it’s the beginning that really seals this one for me.  The narrator speaks to his cheating partner, acknowledging her past infidelities and how, though it hurt him, he still loves her and is committed to their relationship.  Insert guitar solo and power ballad gold.  The song that led to the ballad-laden downfall of REO Speedwagon, it still stands as a classic jam, cheese and all, baby.

Speaking of beauty from spite, we have one of the more tender offerings from Alanis Morissette’s Jagged Little Pill.

The song tells of a couple of lovers who are also best friends, the narrator showering the subject with a string of compliments, detailing the reasons why she’s so in love.  I think my favorite line comes from the refrain: “I couldn’t help it: it’s all your fault.”  I don’t read that so much as walls being torn down as a funny way of saying how great the subject really is.  I mean, he did hold the door for her…

And while we’re on the subject of torrents of love-professing…

I remember back in high school asking a friend of mine if she’d like it if her boyfriend (current hubby) sang her such a song.  I think she was vaguely positive on the subject.  I’d like to think that the sentiments the Vogues sang about would net a bit larger of a reaction if spoken (or sang) genuinely in person.  Right?

But let’s get a bit more superlative, shall we?

Something tells me you’ve heard this song, be it on the radio, in Remember the Titans, or just about anywhere else.  I’ve been listening to this song for my entire life, and I’m still not sick of it.  That’s quite the feat.  It does help that Marvin’s in his prime and the energy he and Tammi generate is damned infectious.  Even the sing-along version at the end of Sister Act 2 was fun and enjoyable.  It may be a perfect song.

Might as well stick with the R&B and add a dash of Memphis soul.  Listen to the Reverend:

Even providing to backdrop for a Pulp Fiction scene, “Let’s Stay Together” oozes with soul and love, sugar. You can’t help but groove along with Rev. Green as he makes his plea for togetherness, “whether times are good or bad, happy or sad”.  Good man.  Good song.  Feel the soul, darlin’!

We’ve got a similar sentiment flowin’ from the great Stevie Wonder up next.

I was introduced to this number as the credits began at the end of High Fidelity, and I have been hooked ever since.  Stevie sings of the optimism love can bring, leading to a hope that such a feeling will last in perpetuity.  And plenty of thanks are given to the Almighty.  It’s no wonder Rob chose the song for his own mixtape intended for the lovely Laura.  It just pops.  And you gotta love that funky bit at the end!

Speaking of Stevie…

We head back to Mr. Wonder’s earlier days and one of his many soulful bangers.  He chronicles the lifelong love he felt for little Suzie.  It’s short, simple, and thoroughly effective, especially given Little Stevie’s energy and zeal.

We see a similar story from the other side of the gender aisle in “The He Kissed Me”.

It’s the tried and true tale of young love blossoming in earnest (thankfully he “looked kinda nice”, otherwise she might not have taken a chance on him…).  The Crystals don’t try to do too much here, and that simplicity helps the story get through in all its sweetness.  There’s just something about “I felt so happy I almost cried, and then he kissed me” that hits me just the right way.  It’s just so damned adorable…

To get an even more simple, earnest approach, we go to an early McCartney-penned ballad, “And I Love Her”.

It’s just a simple little love song, enhanced by some spare instrumentation and sweet, straightforward vocals.  You can just picture an old-timey minstrel serenading a young lady with this ditty, can’t you?

But not every love song is just a declaration of feelings to one’s paramour.  Sometimes you’ve gotta tell an asshole he’s an asshole by letting him know he’s got some stiff competition.

Trained in the art of the shred by the great Steve Vai, Orianthi debuted with this song that tells the subject guy that he can shove his negging right up his ragged ass.  See, there’s this other guy, and he think the world of her.  Sorry, fuck-o, serves ya right for not treating her right.  And that bit of insouciant, purple nail-polished shredding tossed in every now and again?  And that bar bend at the end?  Fantastic.  Tell him, girl!  (And though they’re not quite as strong as “According to You”, “Addicted to Love” and “Highly Strung” further showcase her skills.)

From virtuoso guitars to a beastly bass riff, we hit up Fleetwood Mac with “You Make Loving Fun”.

With the underappreciated vocal stylings of Christine McVie and the bass work of her then-husband John, this song helped gird the powerhouse Rumours album.  Sure, it may have been inspired by Christine’s fling with the band’s lighting director, but the lyrics’ sentiment holds strong, and the instrumentation provides plenty of ’70s soul for the ears.

But if it’s some ’60s soul, look no further than what I consider one of the sexiest songs of all time.

Another Pulp Fiction feature (QT has some seriously good taste in music, y’all!), I can never resist groovin’ along to the lovely Dusty Springfield here.  Her voice just oozes soul and sensuousness throughout, and those horns do a spectacular job backing her up.  Another contender for aural perfection right here.  Come at me.

While it’s Dusty’s sound that does the heavy lifting there, it’s the lyrics of our next number that do the job for me.

From confronting himself about his self-defeating words to extolling the virtues of working to maintain a good relationship, Snow Patrol knew how to speak to me.  (I know, I’m just as surprised as you.)  But it’s the refrain that ultimately gets me every time:  “It’s not as easy as willing it all to be right, got to  be more than hoping it’s right.  I wanna hear you laugh like you really mean it, collapse into me tired with joy.”  Y’all wanna talk relationship goals?  Read that last line: that’s my goal right there.

Speaking of goals, we finish this love fest off with a bit of an oddball inclusion.  Not really much of a love song, strictly speaking, it has no lyrics, only virtuoso Spanish-style guitar flava.  Why do I include it?  Funny story:  Having attended plenty of weddings for my friends, I’ve been fascinated by the couples’ choices for their First Dances.  As of right now, I’ve gotta give it to “Hotel California” (the entire Hell Freezes Over version, no less!) for being my personal favorite.  It all got me thinking what I’d pick.  Then it hit me:  What if my new bride and I just busted out with a choreographed dance set to Rodrigo y Gabriela’s “Diablo Rojo”?  Damn skippy, that’d prolly be pretty awesome, eh?  I can just imagine the faces of our friends and family…

Regardless, the song is a masterpiece, and you can insert whatever story or meaning you want onto it.  I choose my wedding.  Come at me.

One thought on “Mixtape: Lovey Dovey

Leave a comment