2017 Wrap-Up

Here it is, finally, kids. Worry not, I’m not late: I’m thorough. And yes, I stole that joke from Todd in the Shadows. He’s free to sue me.

Seriously, though, I wanted to wait until I could safely say that I got a full picture of the year in film that was 2017. Sure, the world around us was basically a dumpster fire in a number of ways, but there were still glimmers of hope and glee out there. Comedy remains basically dead, at least as a pure genre, but style looks to be making a comeback. I feel, though, that the main takeaway from 2017 is the march toward baseline mediocrity.

Basically, there was a dearth of truly great films (as per usual, frankly), but there was also, somewhat surprisingly, a dearth of truly garbage films. I had an actually difficult time distilling the love and hate down to manageable levels. What that leaves is a wide field of films that just kinda sit there, existing, eliciting no strong feelings either way. And that field is pretty dang-ol’ big, kids. And that’s a problem. Sure, it’s nice to see a decrease in films that make me wanna rage against the sky and the Earth and whatnot, but leaving a theater shrugging and soon forgetting what I just watched is arguably worse. Especially when the financials are taken into account. Y’see, if Hollywood still makes enough of a profit from these mediocrities to keep going and doesn’t see the kind of harsh negative backlash that accompanies the garbage piles, they’re likely just gonna persist on releasing mediocre films. If you don’t see that as a problem for the consumer, I can’t help you.

But, like I said, good stuff still gets made. All told, my count for the year totaled 195, a number that’s more than respectable, if I do say so myself. There were plenty I either missed, like Professor Marston and the Wonder Women, or flat-out skipped, like Father Figures, CHiPs, and The Greatest Showman, but just under 200 gave me a good view of the year’s offerings. The list follows:

All Eyez on Me*

All the Money in the World

American Assassin

American Made*

Amityville: The Awakening

Annabelle: Creation

Atomic Blonde

Baby Driver*

A Bad Moms Christmas

Battle of the Sexes*

Beauty and the Beast

Before I Fall

The Beguiled

The Belko Experiment*

Betting on Zero

Beyond the Spectrum

The Big Sick*

Birth of the Dragon

Blade Runner 2049

Bleeding Steel*

The Book of Henry*

The Boss Baby

Bright*

Brigsby Bear*

Bring It On: Worldwide #Cheersmack

The Bye Bye Man

Call Me by Your Name

Captain Underpants

The Case for Christ

The Circle

Coco*

Collide*

Colossal*

Cult of Chucky

A Cure for Wellness*

Darkest Hours*

Despicable Me 3

Detroit*

The Dinner

The Disaster Artist

A Dog’s Purpose

Downsizing*

Dragonheart: Battle for the Heartfire

Dunkirk*

The Emoji Movie*

Evil Bong 666

The Exception

Ferdinand

Fifty Shades Darker

Fist Fight*

Flatliners

The Florida Project*

The Foreigner

47 Meters Down*

The Founder*

Free Fire*

Friend Request*

Geostorm*

Gerald’s Game

Get Out*

Ghost in the Shell

A Ghost Story*

Gifted*

Going in Style

Gold*

Good Time*

Goodbye Chritopher Robin*

The Great Wall*

The Guardians*

Guardians of the Galaxy Vol. 2

Happy Death Day*

The Hero*

Hey Arnold: The Jungle Movie

Hidden Figures

The Hitman’s Bodyguard*

The House*

I, Tonya*

An Inconvenient Sequel

Ingrid Goes West*

Is Genesis History?

It

It Comes at Night*

Jeepers Creepers 3

Jesus, Bro!*

Jigsaw

John Wick: Chapter 2

Jumanji: Welcome to the Jungle

Just Getting Started*

Justice League

Kidnap*

The Killing of the Sacred Deer*

King Arthur: Legend of the Sword

Kingsman: The Golden Circle

Kong: Skull Island

Kung Fu Yoga*

Lady Bird*

Lady Macbeth

Last Flag Flying

The Last Word*

Leatherface

The Lego Batman Movie

The Lego Ninjago Movie

Life*

Live by Night

Logan

Logan Lucky*

The Lost City of Z

The Love Witch*

Loving Vincent*

The Man Who Invented Christmas

Mark Felt: The Man Who Brought Down the White House

Marshall*

Max 2: White House Hero

Megan Leavey*

The Meyerowitz Stories (New and Selected)*

Molly’s Game

A Monster Calls

Monster Trucks

mother!*

The Mountain between Us

The Mummy

Murder on the Orient Express

My Cousin Rachel

My Happy Family*

My Little Pony

New Trial

9/11

November Criminals

Okja*

Oklahoma City

The Only Living Boy in New York*

Open Water 3: Cage Dive

Paradox*

Past Life*

Patriots Day*

Patti Cake$*

Personal Shopper*

The Pirates of Somalia

Pirates of the Caribbean: Dead Men Tell No Tales

Pitch Perfect 3

Pottersville*

Power Rangers

The Promise*

Puppet Master XI: Axis Termination

A Quiet Passion*

Railroad Tigers*

Raw*

The Red Turtle*

The Resurrection of Gavin Stone*

Rings

Rock Dog*

Roman J. Israel, Esq.*

The Saint

The Shack

The Shape of Water*

Silence

A Silent Voice

Slamma Jamma*

Sleepless

Sleight*

Snatched*

The Snowman

Song to Song*

The Space Between Us

Spider-Man: Homecoming

Split

The Star

Star Wars: The Last Jedi

Stronger

A Taxi Driver*

Thelma*

Thor: Ragnarok

Three Billboards outside Ebbing, Missouri*

Tulip Fever

12 Feet Deep*

Unforgettable*

A United Kingdom

Valerian and the City of a Thousand Planets

Victoria and Abdul

The Villainess*

The Void*

War for the Planet of the Apes

The Watcher in the Woods

What Happened to Monday*

Wind River*

Wish Upon*

Witchcraft 14: Angel of Death

Witchcraft 15: Blood Rose

Witchcraft 16: Hollywood Coven

Wonder

Wonder Wheel*

Wonder Woman

XX*

Your Name

The Zookeeper’s Wife

I was able to make the full alphabet run this year, so that’s a thing. I also made a point of noting which of the films was an original piece, or, at least, not an adaptation or sequel (marked with a * above). I’ve heard quite a bit of noise over the past few years concerning an apparent lack of originality in stories, so I figured I’d keep track. As it turns out, 90 out of 190 (I took the documentaries out of the equation) were original stories, 47%. Allowing for some interpretation and wiggle room, I’d bump it to about 50%. Honestly, considering the doom and gloom of the thinkpieces and such, I’d call that pretty good. Not great, necessarily, but pretty good.

Speaking of documentaries, much like last year, I didn’t find my way to very many of them this year, even though a few stuck out and piqued my interest and never got seen. Of the five I did manage to get around to, I’d have to say that Oklahoma City was the best, as it provided a nice timeline of the 1995 bombing in a visually interesting way, while also thrusting quite a bit of pathos my way. Honestly, though, it really only wins because the others were either by-the-numbers or downright crappy: An Inconvenient Sequel was more about Gore and his cause than, y’know, the whole climate change thing it’s allegedly about, and Is Genesis History? went into things with its title question answered in the affirmative, and thus it didn’t really try to, y’know, prove it in any effective way.

As for foreign films, I went out of my way to see a few, which led me to fourteen. The stats: three Chinese, three Korean, two Japanese, one Russian, one French, one Norwegian, one Chinese and Thai, one Polish and Hebrew, and my first Georgian film. There were plenty of winners here, including the surprisingly entertaining The Guardians from Russia, the strong Raw from France, the emotional anime features A Silent Voice and Your Name from Japan, and the intriguing and original coming-of-age flick Thelma from Norway. All of these deserve some solid praise.
But for the true bit of closure, we come to the main event:

And there you go! What did you guys think of the past year? Agree or disagree with me? Lemme know. Bring it, kids! Here’s hoping 2018 goes well…

Leave a comment